Skip To Main Content

Award Nominations

Employees of the Year

St. Mary's County Public Schools recognizes and celebrates the great work done by staff each and every day. Each year, we recognize several employees that have been recognized for their service and dedication to St. Mary’s County Public Schools.

  • Education Support Professional of the Year (ESPY) Nominees include non-certificated staff in support professional positions, including secretaries, paraeducators, building service workers, dedicated substitutes, food service, safety assistants, and many more! The SMCPS Education Support Professional Professional of the Year will be selected from all staff nominated in this category.
  • Outstanding Educator Nominees include certificated staff in roles such as classroom teachers, media specialists, counselors, and more! The Maryland Teacher of the Year and Washington Post Teacher of the Year will be selected from teachers nominated in this category.
  • Leader of Excellence Nominees include: administrative and supervisory staff in such roles as supervisor, principal, assistant principal, and more! The Washington Post Principal of the Year will be selected from principals nominated in this category.

For the 2021-2022 School Year, these outstanding employees have been recognized for their service and dedication to St. Mary’s County Public Schools.

  • Paul Fenwick, Building Service Manager, Park Hall Elementary School, 2022 SMCPS Educational Support Professional of the Year
  • Lindsay Simone, 4th Grade Teacher, Mechanicsville Elementary School, 2022 SMCPS Washington Post Teacher of the Year
  • Melissa Kiernan, Special Education Teacher, Leonardtown High School, 2022 SMCPS Maryland Teacher of the Year
  • Jamie Jameson, Principal, Evergreen Elementary School, 2022 SMCPS Washington Post Principal of the Year

School and Department Nominees for the 2021-2022 School Year were:

Education Support Professionals | Outstanding Educators | Leaders of Excellence

Education Support Professionals

*Finalists designated with an asterisk


Benjamin Banneker Elem School - Cari Vance
Captain Walter Francis Duke Elementary School - Roy Maddox
Chesapeake Public Charter School - Melissa Angy
Dynard Elementary School - Jennifer Griffith
Evergreen Elementary School -  Diana Rivera
George Washington Carver Elem - Barbara Troche
Green Holly Elementary School - Jaime Jenson
Greenview Knolls Elem School - Deborah Copenhaver
Hollywood Elementary School -  Sharon Page*
Leonardtown Elementary School -  Lorenzo Gross
Lettie Marshall Dent Elementary - Patricia Shumaker
Lexington Park Elementary School -  Sarah Brice*
Mechanicsville Elementary School  - Margit Wiggen
Oakville Elementary School - Ashley Sigmon
Park Hall Elementary School - Paul Fenwick*
Piney Point Elementary School - Jayne Worch
Ridge Elementary School - Emily Waldron
Town Creek Elementary School - Tammy Ogle
White Marsh Elementary School - Diane Brawner


Esperanza Middle School - James Clemente
Leonardtown Middle School - Brian Myers
Margaret Brent Middle School - Kimberly Maiden
Spring Ridge Middle School - Penelope Splain*
Chopticon High School - Lynne Molen*
Great Mills High School - Robert Young
Leonardtown High School - Larry Mills, Jr.
Fairlead Academy - Charity Ryan
Dr. J A Forrest Career and Technology Center - Colin McDaniel*
Virtual Academy - Mary Ann Tomasic


Division of Supporting Services - Courtney Lacey
Moakley/Central Administration: Angela Berry*

Outstanding Educators


Benjamin Banneker Elem School - Michael Soly*
Captain Walter Francis Duke Elementary School - Kimberly Gray
Chesapeake Public Charter School - April Skinner
Dynard Elementary School - Crystal Johnston*
Evergreen Elementary School - Jo Amspacher
George Washington Carver Elem - Jaime Vickers
Green Holly Elementary School - Ella Lefton*
Greenview Knolls Elem School - Hollie Sikorski
Hollywood Elementary School - Denise Rycraft
Leonardtown Elementary School - Sona Powell
Lettie Marshall Dent Elementary - Kimberly Edwards
Lexington Park Elementary School - Holly Ridgell
Mechanicsville Elementary School - Lindsay Simone*
Oakville Elementary School - Brandyn Gunn
Park Hall Elementary School - Myranda Barry
Piney Point Elementary School - Summer Wood
Ridge Elementary School - Jessica Deeney
Town Creek Elementary School - Sarah Ellsworth
White Marsh Elementary School - Courtney Feustel


Esperanza Middle School - Angela Evans
Leonardtown Middle School - Susan Parlett*
Margaret Brent Middle School - Tanya Holmes*
Spring Ridge Middle School - Zachery Bush
Chopticon High School - Ray Sapp
Great Mills High School - Britni Kirker
Leonardtown High School - Melissa Kiernan*
Fairlead Academy - Stefanie Potts*
Dr. J A Forrest Career and Technology Center - Mary Thompson
Virtual Academy - Andrea Delude

Leaders of Excellence:

  • Evergreen ES - Jamie Jameson
  • Lettie Marshall Dent ES - Theresa Buckler
  • Leonardtown MS - Erich Engel-Cope
  • Margaret Brent MS - Glenna Edwards
  • Central Administration/Moakley - Lisa Bachner