Skip To Main Content

Ethics Panel

All Maryland school systems are required by state law to have an ethics policy that establishes standards of conduct for school system employees, school officials, Board of Education members, and candidates for election to the Board of Education. Each school system’s ethics policy is subject to review and approval by the Maryland State Ethics Commission.

The Ethics Policy and Ethics Regulations should serve as guidance in filing any required forms. A separate list of Frequently Asked Questions is also available for guidance. Further questions should be submitted to

Those questions will be forwarded to the St. Mary’s County Public Schools’ Ethics Panel to review, address, and get back to you with a reply as soon as possible.

Ethics Panel Members

Robert Ertter, Chairperson

Term Expires: 2026

Katie Hill, Vice Chairperson

Term Expires: 2026

Roy Alvey, Panel Member

Term Expires: 2024

John Walters, Panel Member

Term Expires: 2024

Christine mcdonough, Panel Member

Term Expires:  2026

Suja Varghese, BOE Legal Advisor

Ethics Panel Legal Advisor

Kimberly Short, Ethics Panel Assistant

Executive Administrative Assistant


SMCPS Ethics Panel Telephone Number: 301-475-5511, ext. 32178
Ethics Panel E-mail Address: