Employees: Normal

Schools: Normal

Employee Status Information

College and Career Readiness

Sherri A. Gray sagray@smcps.org
Administrative Secretary
301-475-0242 ext. 28126

The Department of College and Career Readiness provides leadership and management for all of the recovery options implemented for students failing to make adequate yearly progress while assuring that all students graduate prepared for the rigors of college and/or careers. The College and Career Readiness department is charged with the implementation of board policy and procedures as they apply to academic intervention and recovery. Members participate in the formation of district policies and procedures by making appropriate recommendations for improvements and/or additions that enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the district’s instructional program to support the mission of the school system.

Adult Basic Education

301-475-0213

Paul Fancella, Principal on Assignment, pjfancella@smcps.org

Patricia Meszaros, Instructional Specialist, pbmeszaros@smcps.org

Alane Vinson, Intake Assessment Specialist, aevinson@smcps.org

 

Special Programs and FLOW Mentoring

Mark Smith, Coordinator of Special Programs, mgsmith@smcps.org, 301-475-0242 ext. 110

Sarah Tyson, FLOW Program Manager, srtyson@smcps.org, 301-475-0242 ext. 148

Vacancy, Program Assistant

 

Essential Functions

  • Oversee all grant funded interventions (Twilight School, FLOW, 21st Century)
  • Oversee the entire operation of APEX/Grad Track
  • Oversee the entire operation of Summer School (SS)
  • Oversee and advance on-line and correspondence courses available for students with the goal of offering core content courses remotely by 2012 – ultimately developing a virtual high school experience with credit bearing courses available to all SMCPS students
  • Develop and maintain the academic intervention provided for Behavior Management Centers (BMC) to include monthly data reporting by school, by grade
  • Develop and maintain academic intervention provided for In-School Intervention (ISI) to include monthly data reporting by school, by grade